[OASIS] Harvard University Library
OASIS: Online Archival Search Information System
http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:RAD.SCHL:sch01317View HOLLIS Record   Frames Version
Questions or Comments   Copyright Statement

On July 16, 2018, OASIS will retire. It will be replaced by HOLLIS for Archival Discovery. Please explore.
T-97; T-125; Phon-7

Friedan, Betty. Audio collection of Betty Friedan, 1963-2007: A Finding Aid

Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University


Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University

© President and Fellows of Harvard College

Descriptive Summary

Call No.: T-97; T-125; Phon-7
Repository: Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University
Title: Audio collection of Betty Friedan, 1963-2007
Date(s): 1963-2007
Quantity: 148 audiotapes
Quantity: 3 phonograph records
Language of materials: Materials in English.
Abstract: Audio collection of Betty Friedan, feminist, activist, teacher, and author includes radio broadcasts, speeches, etc.

Immediate Source of Acquisition:

Accession numbers: 96-M122, 96-M141, 97-M94, 97-M160, 99-M137, 2004-M79, 2005-M17, 2006-M13, 2007-M34.
These audio materials were given to the Schlesinger Library by Betty Friedan and Marlene Sanders from 1996 through 2007.

Processing Information:

Processed: November 2010
By: Melissa Dollman

Access Restrictions:

Access. Unrestricted except for T-125, reels 29-43, which are closed until January 1, 2029, and T-125, reels 54-57, which are closed until January 1, 2019. An appointment is necessary to use any audiovisual material.

Conditions Governing Use:

Copyright in the audio materials created by Betty Friedan is held by her heirs. Copyright in other audio materials in the collection may be held by their authors, or the authors' heirs or assigns.
Copying. Audiovisual materials may be copied in accordance with the library's usual procedures.

Preferred Citation:

Betty Friedan Audio collection, 1963-2007; item description, dates. T-97, T-125, or Phon-7, reel or disc #. Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.

Related Material:

There is additional material at the Schlesinger Library; see Betty Friedan Papers, 1952-1993 (MC 576), Betty Friedan Papers, 1933-1985 (MC 575), Betty Friedan Papers, 1941-2006 (MC 577), and Betty Friedan Video collection, ca.1970-2006 (Vt-1, DVD-34).


Feminist, activist, and author Betty Goldstein Friedan (1921-2006) helped found the National Organization for Women [NOW], and served as its first president (1966-1970). Her first book, The Feminine Mystique, was published in 1963. Afterward, Friedan quickly became a leading advocate for change in the status of women in the United States. Her subsequent books include It Changed My Life (1976), The Second Stage (1981), and The Fountain of Age (1993). Friedan was active in many feminist and political organizations, taught at several universities, lectured widely, and published numerous articles on gender and aging related issues until her death.


The collection is arranged in four series:


Audio materials included in other finding aids from the library's collection have been re-listed here in chronological order within each series, maintaining original reel numbers. Some items from previous finding aids may have been removed because they were duplicates or deemed unrelated. Materials are in audiocassette format unless otherwise noted.
Series I, Radio broadcasts, 1963-1995, includes radio broadcasts that feature Friedan in interviews and delivering speeches at national conferences such as the National Organization for Women (NOW) and the 1972 Democratic National Convention.
Series II, Speeches, 1974-1999, includes Friedan speaking to groups as diverse as the Girl Scouts Council of Northwest Cook County, Illinois, women in Iran and Montana, the Commonwealth Club of California, and American Society of Aging, as well as a debate between Friedan and Phyllis Schlafly at Armed Forces Staff College.
Series III, Lectures and symposia, 1967-1991, includes university lectures by Friedan, as well as Economic Think Tank for Women and Women, Men, and Media symposia, etc.
Series IV, Miscellaneous,1960-2007, includes a variety of material such as recordings for personal research, an oral history with Friedan, recordings of her 65th and 75th birthday parties, her mother's memorial service, and friends' remembrances after Friedan's death.

Container List

Additional Index Terms

Ageism--United States
Aging--Social aspects--United States
Authors, American
College teachers--United States
Equal rights amendments--United States
Feminism--United States
Feminism and architecture
Feminists--United States
Friedan, Betty. Second stage
Friedan, Betty. Fountain of age
Friedan, Betty. Feminine mystique
Mass media and sex
Older women--United States
Oral histories
Phonograph records
Radio programs
Sex role
Sexual division of labor
Women--Employment--United States
Women political activists--United States
Women--United States--Social conditions
Women in mass media
Decter, Midge
Economic Think Tank for Women
MacKinnon, Catharine A.
National Organization for Women
Satir, Virginia
Schlafly, Phyllis