[OASIS] Harvard University Library
OASIS: Online Archival Search Information System
http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:HLS.Libr:law00124View HOLLIS Record   Frames Version
Questions or Comments   Copyright Statement

On July 1, 2018, OASIS will retire. It will be replaced by HOLLIS for Archival Discovery. Please explore.

Harvard Law School Prize Essays, 1850-1868: Finding Aid.

Harvard Law School Library, Harvard Library, Harvard University


Harvard Law School

© President and Fellows of Harvard College

Descriptive Summary

Location: Harvard Depository
Call No.: HOLLIS601610
Repository: Harvard Law School Library, Harvard Library, Harvard University
Title: Harvard Law School Prize Essays
Date(s): 1850-1868
Quantity: 4 boxes
Language of materials: English
Abstract: This collection consists of prize essays written by students of the Harvard Law School.

Immediate Source of Acquisition:

Contact Curator of Modern Manuscripts and Archives.

Processing Information:

Processed by Erica C. Bicchieri, 2002.

Conditions Governing Access:

Access to these papers is governed by the rules and regulations of the Harvard Law School Library. This collection is open to the public, but is housed off-site at Harvard Depository and requires 2 business-day advance notice for retrieval. Consult the Special Collections staff for further information.

Conditions Governing Use:

The Harvard Law School Library holds copyright on some, but not all, of the material in our collections. Requests for permission to publish material from this collection should be directed to the Special Collections staff. Researchers who obtain permission to publish from the Harvard Law School Library are also responsible for identifying and contacting the persons or organizations who hold copyright.

Historical/Biographical Information

Harvard Law School was established in 1817. These essays were written during the period of professors Joel Parker, Theophilus Parsons, and Emory Washburn (1845-1870), a quiet period of little growth in the school. It followed the period of the great teacher Joseph Story, and preceded the period of first Deanship (1870-1895) and the so-called Golden Age of the Law School, when Dean C.C. Langdell, Professor J.B. Ames, J.C. Gray, and J.B. Thayer were present.

Scope and Contents

This collection consists of prize essays written by students of the Harvard Law School. All essays are handwritten, and some give Latin terms or phrases as authors. Subjects cover all fields of law studied at that time, such as torts, domestic relations, property, admiralty, partnership, Common law, and pleading.

Container List

Additional Index Terms

Common Law.
Harvard Law School.
Law Schools --United States
Bates, George Handy.
Blaikie, William
Blodgett, Warren Kendall.
Bond, Elmer Monroe.
Bowman, Josiah Soule.
Brackett, John Quincy Adams.
Brown, Addison.
Cadwallader, Jacob Augustus.
Carmalt, James Edward.
Chamberlayne, Charles Frederick.
Chandler, William Eaton.
Codman, Charles Russell Jr.
Colburn, William Garder.
Couper, Hamilton.
Crawford, Henry.
Cui Bono.
Donnell, James Monroe.
Dutton, George Philip.
Eaton, Dorman Bridgman.
Edwards, Alfred Lewis.
Elting, Irving.
Elwood, John Bell.
Fischacher, Max.
Guild, H.E.
Henderson, Thomas Albert.
Hill, Adams S.
Hoague, Isaac Theodore.
Ingalls, Melville Ezra.
In Curia.
Jackson, John Peter.
Jones, Leonard Augustus.
King, John C.
Kilbreth, James Truesdell.
Kinnicutt, Thomas.
Labor ipse voluptas.
Lex citius tolerare vult privatum, etc.
Lindenbower, Harrison.
Macmillan, F.J.
Merrill, Charles Amos.
Modus et conventio, etc.
Mullin, George Hill.
Mumford, George H.
Nil actum repentans si quid, etc.
Nil spero.
Non favore.
Non modo quid liceat, etc.
Norton, Charles Augustus.
Odlin, John Woodbridge.
Paige, Edward Winslow.
Peck, Hiram D.
Pierce, Edward L.
Practo et presto.
Purdy, A.H.
Qui bono.
Quid nisi victis dolor.
Richardson, George Francis.
Rudd, Frank.
Russell, Alfred.
Si non hodio, cras.
Sic utero tuo, etc.
Sigenthaler, Godfrey.
Smith, Henry Farnam.
Stark, Charles Henry.
Stephenson, James Wesley.
Stickney, Albert.
Stiles, Sumner Burritt.
Swan, Charles Lewis.
Towne, William Henry.
Travis, Jeremiah.
Vanmeter, John Marshall.
Walcott, Charles Felson.
Waters, James von Staats.
Welles, Henry Coit.
Williams, George Gorham.
Wilson, William Griggs.
Woodruff, George Morris.
Wullweber, Christian William Frederick.