[OASIS] Harvard University Library
OASIS: Online Archival Search Information System
http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:FHCL.Hough:hou02471View HOLLIS Record   Frames Version
Questions or Comments   Copyright Statement

On July 16, 2018, OASIS will retire. It will be replaced by HOLLIS for Archival Discovery. Please explore.
MS Am 2940

Lowell, A. Lawrence (Abbott Lawrence), 1856-1943. A. Lawrence Lowell papers for the Commission on Second-Class Mail Matter, 1907-1912: Guide.

Houghton Library, Harvard Library, Harvard University


Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138 USA

© President and Fellows of Harvard College

Descriptive Summary

Location: Harvard Depository
Call No.: MS Am 2940
Repository: Houghton Library, Harvard Library, Harvard University
Creator: Lowell, A. Lawrence (Abbott Lawrence),1856-1943.
Title: A. Lawrence Lowell papers for the Commission on Second-Class Mail Matter,
Date(s): 1907-1912.
Quantity: 1 collection (4 boxes (3 linear ft.)
Language of materials: Collection materials are in English.
Abstract: Papers assembled by Harvard President A. Lawrence Lowell in his capacity as a member on the Commission on Second-Class Mail Matter.

Immediate Source of Acquisition:

No accession number; Gift of President A. Lawrence Lowell; received: 1921 July 7. Recataloged from: Econ 3735.511.7*, Econ 3735.511.10*, Econ 3735.511.12*, and Econ 3735.511.13*.

Processing Information:

Processed by: Bonnie B. Salt.

Conditions Governing Access:

There are no restrictions on physical access to this material. Collection is open for research.
This collection is not housed at the Houghton Library but is shelved offsite at the Harvard Depository. Retrieval requires advance notice. Readers should check with Houghton Public Services staff to determine what material is offsite and retrieval policies and times.

Preferred Citation for Publication:

A. Lawrence Lowell Papers for the Commission on Second-Class Mail Matter, 1907-1912 (MS Am 2940). Houghton Library, Harvard University.

Biographical / Historical

Abbott Lawrence Lowell (1856-1943) was an American educator and legal scholar. He was President of Harvard University from 1909 to 1933. He served on what is known as the "Hughes Postal Commission", along with Charles Evans Hughes and Henry A. Wheeler. Formal name for the commission was: United States Congress Commission on Second-Class Mail Matter. Commission was appointed pursuant to the joint resolution of Congress approved March 4, 1911 and the report was communicated by President William Howard Taft to Congress on February 22, 1912.
Charles Evans Hughes (1862-1948) was an American statesman, lawyer and Republican politician from New York. He served as the 36th Governor of New York (1907–1910), Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States (1910–1916), United States Secretary of State (1921–1925), a judge on the Court of International Justice (1928–1930), and the 11th Chief Justice of the United States (1930–1941).
Henry A. Wheeler was a vice president of the Union Trust Company in Chicago and, at one time, the president of United States Chamber of Commerce.


Organized into the following series:

Scope and Contents

Includes: printed materials concerning, documents assembled for, and manuscript drafts of the report of the Commission on Second-class Mail Matter; with correspondence relating to corrections and alterations, together with proofs and galley proofs of the report. Correspondents include A. Lawrence Lowell, Charles Evans Hughes, Henry A. Wheeler, many persons from the Postmaster General's office, and others.
There are also a few items concerning President Lowell that concern Harvard University and are not related to the issue of the postal Commission [see items (4) and (8)].


This collection is shelved offsite at the Harvard Depository. See access restrictions below for additional information.

Container List