[OASIS] Harvard University Library
OASIS: Online Archival Search Information System
http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:DIV.LIB:div00534View HOLLIS Record   Frames Version
Questions or Comments   Copyright Statement

On July 16, 2018, OASIS will retire. It will be replaced by HOLLIS for Archival Discovery. Please explore.
bMS 534

Pomeroy, Vivian T. (Vivian Towse), 1883-1961. Papers, 1904-1961: A Finding Aid.

Andover-Harvard Theological Library, Harvard Divinity School, Harvard University


Andover-Harvard Theological Library, Harvard Divinity School, Harvard University

© President and Fellows of Harvard College

Descriptive Summary

Call No.: bMS 534
Repository: Andover-Harvard Theological Library, Harvard Divinity School, Harvard University
Creator: Pomeroy, Vivian T. (Vivian Towse), 1883-1961.
Title: Pomeroy, Vivian T. (Vivian Towse), 1883-1961. Papers, 1904-1961.
Date(s): 1904-1961.
Quantity: 19 boxes
Abstract: Papers of Unitarian minister and children's book author Vivian Towse Pomeroy (1883-1961) including sermons, essays, stories, correspondence, worship materials, scrapbooks, journals, and diaries. The collection also includes materials of his wife Dorothy Tremayne Pomeroy.

Acquisition Information:

Gift of Geraldine Pomeroy, 1985.


There are no restrictions on access to this collection.

Biographical / Historical

Vivian Towse Pomeroy (1883-1961) graduated from Wadham and Mansfield College, Oxford University in 1908 and 1911 respectively. He was ordained to the Congregational ministry in 1911 in Bradford, Yorkshire, England. He came to the United States in 1923 and was received into full fellowship in the American Unitarian Association in 1926. Upon his arrival to the United States, he served the First Congregational Parish (Unitarian) in Milton, Massachusetts from 1924 until his retirement in 1954. Pomeroy was also the author of numerous children's books including The Legends of Lumb Lane (1923), Enchanted Children: Twenty Five-Minute Tales (1925), and Kings, Donkeys, and Dreams (1937).


Organized into the following series:

Scope and Contents

This collection is divided into six series. Series I consists of sermons, essays, and stories by Vivian Pomeroy and his wife, Dorothy Tremayne Pomeroy. Series II is correspondence, the bulk of which includes correspondence with Supreme Court Justice Felix Frankfurter and his wife Marion. Series III consists of worship materials such as orders of service and prayers. Series IV is comprised of scrapbooks compiled by Pomeroy. These scrapbooks consists of quotations, essays, and clippings. Series V contains journals and diaries, mainly by Vivian Pomeroy, but also by Dorothy Pomeroy. Series VI consists of biographical material on both Vivian and Dorothy Pomeroy.

Container List