[OASIS] Harvard University Library
OASIS: Online Archival Search Information System
http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:DIV.LIB:div00452View HOLLIS Record   Frames Version
Questions or Comments   Copyright Statement
bMS 452

MacLean, Angus Hector, 1892-1969. Papers, 1927-1969: A Finding Aid.

Andover-Harvard Theological Library, Harvard Divinity School, Harvard University


Andover-Harvard Theological Library, Harvard Divinity School, Harvard University

© President and Fellows of Harvard College

Descriptive Summary

Call No.: bMS 452
Repository: Andover-Harvard Theological Library, Harvard Divinity School, Harvard University
Creator: MacLean, Angus Hector, 1892-1969.
Title: MacLean, Angus Hector, 1892-1969. Papers, 1927-1969.
Date(s): 1927-1969.
Date(s): 1930
Date(s): 1934
Date(s): 1965
Date(s): 1966
Quantity: 13 boxes
Abstract: Papers of Universalist minister Angus Hector MacLean, including writings, worship resources, correspondence, subject files, and biographical material. The papers span 1927-1969.

Acquisition Information:

Gift of Susanne M. Boone, 1981 and 1982.


There are no restrictions on access to this collection.

Biographical / Historical

Angus Hector MacLean (1892-1969) was born in Nova Scotia, Canada. He received a BA from McGill University in 1920, a BD from Montreal Cooperative Theological College in 1923, an MA from Columbia University in 1924, and a PhD from Columbia in 1930. He also received honorary doctor of divinity degrees from Tufts University (1955), Meadville Theological School (1957), and St. Lawrence Theological School (1960). Although raised a Presbyterian, he was ordained a Universalist minister in New York in 1945. He served as Professor of Religious Education (1928-1951) and Dean (1951-1960) at St. Lawrence University Theological School; as well as minister of education at the First Unitarian Church in Cleveland, Ohio (1960-1967). MacLean was the author of The Idea of God in Protestant Religious Education (1930), The New Era in Religious Education: A Manual for Church School Teachers (1934), The Wind in Both Ears (1965), and The Galloping Gospel (1966). In 1971, the Angus H. MacLean Award was established by the St. Lawrence Theological School alumni association to reward excellence in the field of religious education. The award is given annually at the General Assembly of the Unitarian Universalist Association.


Organized into the following series:

Scope and Contents

This collection is divided into seven series. Series I consists of book manuscripts, arranged alphabetically by title. Series II contains writings by MacLean, also arranged alphabetically by title. Series III contains worship resources, which include marriage and funeral services. Series IV is correspondence, arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Series V contains subject files on St. Lawrence Theological School and various commissions. Series VI consists of material related to the First Unitarian Church, Cleveland, Ohio, and Series VII consists of biographical material, including drawings by MacLean and newspaper and magazine clippings.

Container List